Neighbourhood Watch have partnered with Friends Against Scams to help raise awareness of all types of scams. We are delighted to hear that one of our members, heeded our Neighbourhood Alert advice and recently avoided being scammed. He shared his story with his neighbours:

"I've newly received a text (SMS message) from a close friend, "Sharing a telephone number with me". My immediate reaction was that it was probably somebody wanting information on joining a club that I run, and of course, we are always keen to get new members.

But thanks to all the warnings that we get on Neighbourhood Watch I was suspicious; I had never had a 'Sharing a telephone number message' like that before.

I rang my friend on her telephone number in my address book and asked her about it. She replied that she knew nothing about it and said, "Oh no, I've been hacked again!"

I binned the message and thanked my lucky stars that I had not telephoned the "shared number" and had used my friend's address book number instead of the normal reply to message arrow.

Without the Neighbourhood Watch warnings, I would surely have 'lost a lot of lolly' to a premium rate number!”

We will continue to share advice through Neighbourhood Alert and social media. For our blog, we would love to hear from you if our advice or the free scams training that Friends Against Scams offer, has prevented you from being scammed.

Please add your stories in the comments below.

Comments   
Lacy
0 # Lacy 2019-10-02 19:43
I enjoy the efforts you have put in this, thanks for all the great posts.
Reply | Reply with quote | Quote
Add comment


Submit your story!

Got a story to submit? Fill it out on our quick-form here!
Please fill in all required fields.
Size limit for each file is 1 MB
captcha
Reload
By submitting this form, you accept our privacy policy.

Latest Comments

footer image

We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. Continuing to use this site signifies your implied consent to the use of Cookies - pressing the “I Agree button” will remove this notice. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our "Privacy Policy" in the footer.